The Eleventh Pacific Conference on Computer Graphics and Applications
Supported By: Silicon Graphics, Inc. and iCore

PG2003 Pictures
Conference Program
Conference Organization
Registration Information
Call For Papers
Invited Speakers
Visitor Information
Hotel Information
Getting There
Previous Conferences
Our Sponsors
Contact Information

 

 

 
Visitor Information

The Canadian Rocky Mountains / Banff National Park

In the fall of 1883, three Canadian Pacific Railway construction workers stumbled across a cave containing hot springs on the eastern slopes of Alberta's Rocky Mountains. From that humble beginning was born Banff National Park, Canada's first national park and the world's third. Now a world class resort and historic site, Banff provides a relaxed atmosphere, conducive to discussion and creativity intermingled with fresh air, great hikes, fantastic ski slopes, varied cuisine, museums and shops. A soak in the Sulphur Mountain Hot Springs can soothe away your stresses after a long and exhausting day. Take the opportunity to regroup and focus after long and tedious academic/work terms. Come, experience Banff in all its splendor and wilderness - it's your adventure!

Banff
Few places on the planet rival the Rocky Mountains for stunning beauty, exhilarating activities, country lodges, friendly folks, charming shops and first-class restaurants.

Lake Louise
The town of Lake Louise is approximately 50 km from Banff and is home to the famous Chateau Lake Louise, a Canadian Pacific hotel built in the late 1800s, known as the "Jewel of the Canadian Rockies". The lake, on whose shores the Chateau sits, is 5,680 feet above sea level. During winter the lake is dotted with cross country skiers and skaters whilst summer revelers enjoy an easy row across its blue green waters.

Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village has provided the high point of many a ski vacation. Rising to nearly 9,000 feet, Sunshine is the highest ski resort in the Canadian Rockies, with the kind of alpine charm and hospitality that skiers dream about.

Kananaskis / Bow Valley
The Kananaskis / Bow Valley region is often considered Calgary's getaway and playground. From horseback riding, mountain trails and many excellent golf course to quiet bed-and-breakfast getaways, there is plenty to discover.

Links
Discover Banff - http://www.discoverbanff.com
Dining in Banff - http://www.dininginbanff.com
Sunshine Village - http://www.skibanff.com

The City of Calgary

Nearby, the city of Calgary is nestled in the foothills of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. It offers a variety of attractions and activities, is young at heart, modern, safe and world-renowned for its warm western hospitality. It is a rich and vibrant home to over 730,000 people. At an elevation of 1,048 meters (3,440 feet) above sea level, Calgary is only 40 minutes from the splendour of one of the world's most spectacular mountain ranges.

Sunny Alberta is famous for its long, warm summer days and the recreational activities to enjoy them. There is everything from fly-fishing, to rock climbing, to hiking, to all the contemporary pleasures of a modern cosmopolitan city.

Calgary Tower
Calgary Tower, a "year-round dining tradition", offers a breathtaking panoramic view of the city and the Canadian Rockies.

Canada Olympic Park
The premier site of the '88 Olympic Winter Games is visible from many parts of the city.

Royal Tyrrell Museum (prehistoric)
The Royal Tyrrell Museum of Paleontology invites you to experience 4.5 billion years of the Earth's history. Hands-on displays, computer simulations, multi-media shows and life-sized dinosaur exhibits tell the story of the planet's development.

Zoo, Botanical Gardens and Prehistoric Park
The Calgary Zoo, Botanical Gardens and Prehistoric Park is a world renowned zoological institution.

Dining/Entertainment
Calgary's entertainment scene shines from morning to night with everything from free street entertainment to world premieres of plays, music and dance. From a barbecued steak enjoyed at a sidewalk cafe to the intoxicating aroma of continental cuisine served in an elegant French restaurant, Calgary and area serves up something for everyone.

Links
Discover Alberta - http://www.discoveralberta.com
Discover Calgary - http://www.discovercalgary.com
Found Locally - http://www.foundlocally.com/calgary/Travel
Tourism Calgary - http://www.tourismcalgary.com
Calgary Tower - http://www.calgarytower.com
Canada Olympic Park - http://www.coda.ab.ca/COP/
Royal Tyrrell Museum - http://www.tyrrellmuseum.com/
Calgary Zoo - http://www.calgaryzoo.ab.ca/